Masters and PhD scholarships for women from Southern Africa

The key aim of the Graca Machel Scholarship Programme is to help provide the female human resources necessary for economic, social, and cultural development in the Southern African region and to develop an educated and skilled workforce that can benefit the wider community.

Host Institution(s):

Universities in South Africa

Field of study:

Masters or PhD Degree in any course of study relevant to the development needs of southern Africa

Number of Awards:

There is no set number. The Trust makes awards on the basis of available funding and suitable applicants.

Target group:

Female students from Southern Africa.

Scholarship value/inclusions:

Full tuition, stipend and other support for Honours, masters and PhD study at South African universities.


To apply for a scholarship under this programme you must be:

– Female
– A national of and normally resident in one of the SADC countries: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
– In possession of a good first degree (minimum second class, upper division or equivalent) or about to graduate in the year of application
– Studying or applying to study at a South African university

Application Date: 28, July 2019(annually) 

For more information on the scholarship, click the link below.

Scholarship link


Similar Scholarships